Archive for May, 2011

Russell Maryland Elected to College Football Hall of Fame

Hurricanes great Russell Maryland was one of 14 players and two coaches chosen for inclusion into the 2011 College Hall of Fame Class, announced by The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame this morning.

Maryland won the Outland Trophy in 1990 and was elected to the UM Sports Hall of Fame in 2001. He becomes the fifth player in school history inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, joining quarterback Gino Torretta, safety Bennie Blades, defensive end Ted Hendricks and running back Don Bosseler. Former UM coaches Jack Harding & Andy Gustafson are also in the College Football Hall of Fame.